30 days of gratitude — day 1

I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music.

– Albert Einstein

On a Sunday, there wouldn’t be a better way to start off my 30 days of gratitude than with music. Music has saved me many times and has always been a part of my life. I started dancing when I was 3 or 4 years old, so I can literally say music has been a part of my life as far back as I can remember. It is tied to phases of my life and memories of the people I love. It is in every single thing I do. It is my religion and my belief and my savior. It is my sanity and my chaos. It is my everything.

So, in honor of the first day of my 30 days, I give you “slow music sundays: my life in stages,” so essentially the songs I grew up listening to on repeat. (Every song is linked to YouTube, but only posted some critical ones.)

Childhood — The Good Stuff
Thanks to my parents for raising me on solid music that makes me happy from head to toe!

Dion and the Belmonts – “Runaround Sue”

Gene Chandler – “Duke of Earl

The Drifters – “Under the Boardwalk

The Dell-Vikings – “Come and Go with Me

The Marvelettes – “Mr. Postman

Betty Everett – “Shoop Shoop Song (It’s In His Kiss)”

Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons – “Sherry”

The Tokens – “The Lion Sleeps Tonight

Martha & the Vandellas – “Dancing in the Street

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – “You Really Got a Hold On Me

New Kids on the Block – “Step By Step

you still with me? 🙂 I hope so, because now we’re moving on to the teen angst years… (good luck)…

Preteens and Teens – Innocence, Angst and Sin
Yes, there will still be “oldies” because it will always be some of the best music and, hey, it’s my freaking musical timeline! And movies (aka Remember the Titans) had a big influence. Well, let’s be honest, it’s a freaking cluster!

Ben E. King – “Stand By Me

Chiffons – “One Fine Day

Elvis Presley – “Hound Dog

Beach Boys – “Kokomo

Chicago – “Saturday in the Park

Glenn Fray – “The Heat is On

Steve Winwood – “Higher Love”

(prepare yourself for a dramatic change)

5ive – “Slam Dunk Da Funk” (NOTE: THIS CD AND THE ONE BELOW ARE THE FIRST MUSICAL PURCHASES I EVER MADE. SPEAKS VOLUMES.)

B*Witched – “C’est La Vie

Celine Dion – “It’s All Coming Back to Me Now

Jock Jams – “I Like to Move It

Real McCoy – “Another Night Another Dream

Backstreet Boys – “Everybody

N Sync – “Gone

Christina Aguilera – “What A Girl Wants

Lifehouse – “Hanging By A Moment” (Cue the rock love… this was the first song a guy ever dedicated to me. Sigh.)

Dashboard Confessional – “As Lovers Go

Third Eye Blind – “Motorcycle Driveby”

Jimmy Eat World – “Praise Chorus” (My life anthem.)

Incubus – “I miss you

Bush – “Glycerine

Our Lady Peace – “Clumsy

Fuel – “Shimmer

Default – “Wasting My Time

Usher – “Nice & Slow

Alicia Keys – “Never Felt This Way

College and the Afterlife – YAY, Free Music!!! (4 years later) Wait, You Mean You Have To Pay For Music?

Numa Numa

Motion City Soundtrack – “L.G.F.U.A.D

Emery – “Studying Politics

Straylight Run – “Mistakes We Knew We Were Making

Acceptance – “So Contagious

Paolo Nutini – “New Shoes

Adele – “Right As Rain

The Fray – “Vienna

OneRepublic – “All Fall Down

O.A.R. – “Hey Girl

The Format – “Oceans

John Legend – “Save Room

John Mayer – “Heartbreak Warfare

Ryan Adams – “Come Pick Me Up”

…and many many more, but I must save them for future SMS sessions! So, I’ll leave you with today’s song:

Augustana – “Sweet and Low”

Anywhere you go, anyone you meet,
Remember that your eyes can be your enemies,
I said, hell is so close and heaven’s out of reach
But I ain’t giving up quite yet,
I’ve got too much to lose

Hold me down, sweet and low, little girl
Hold me down, sweet and low, and I will carry you home
Hold me down, sweet and low, little girl
Hold me down, and I’ll carry you home

The rain is gonna fall, the sun is gonna shine,
The wind is gonna blow, the water’s gonna rise
She said, “when that day comes, look into my eyes”
No one’s giving up quite yet,
We’ve got too much to lose

And I’ll carry you all the way,
When you say you’re fine
But you’re still young, and out of line
When all I need’s to turn around,
To make it last, to make it count
I ain’t gonna make the same mistakes
That put my mama in her grave
I don’t wanna be alone

Leave a Reply

